Cricket Betting Guide

Cricket Betting Guide

Betting Guides
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Cricket has always been a firm favourite here in Australia and why not with the perfect Aussie summer weather and of course our British heritage. Cricket is played throughout Australia by all ages and due to this it has always had a good following within the betting world.

Australia's main competition is of course the Sheffield Shield which is competed for each year by each states representative team. The competition is contested in a double-round robin format, with each team playing every other team in two home-and-away matches. Points are awarded based on wins, losses, draws and ties, with the top two teams playing a final at the end of the season. Regular matches last for four days; the final lasts for five days.

The most famous cricket series in the world The Ashes is competed for every two years between Australia and the old enemy England, consisting of five tests the series is a grueling challenge for both bat and ball and the public interest from both countries is always huge. The Ashes series alternates between Australia and England and the fans flock to each test to hopefully watch their country get one over on their counterparts.

The Cricket world cup is another event that is always in the public's eye when it comes around as it is only held every four years. International teams compete against each other firstly in pools before they best of the best play out the knockout phase to see who will be crowned world champions.

Below is a list of the current teams who compete for the Sheffield Shield each season, their home ground and which state they represent:

Team Name

Home Ground

Last Title

New South Wales
(NSW Blues)

Sydney Cricket Ground


(Queensland Bulls)

The Gabba


South Australia
(Southern Redbacks)

Adelaide Oval


(Tasmanian Tigers)

Bellerive Oval


(Victorian Bushrangers)

Melbourne Cricket Ground


Western Australia
(Western Warriors)

WACA Ground


Common Bet Types For Cricket.

Head To Head.

This is a general win - lose - draw bet placed on either of the two cricket teams competing in a single match, all three options are popular due to the nature of cricket and how it can unfold with teams getting on top and knocking the other off quickly but also both teams digging in and holding the bowlers at bay, the weather also plays a big part in cricket matches especially abroad due to cricket not being played in the rain or bad light.

Most Runs Betting.

Pick a player to score the most runs, there are several markets that you can choose from usually most runs in the match or innings by either team or most runs in the match or innings by a player from a single team.

Example - Steve Smith to score the most runs for Australia first innings or Steve Smith to score the most runs in the match between Australia v England. The first option only pits Smith against his own team in a single innings so it does not matter what the English players score nor does it matter what he scores in the second innings of the match. The second option however means Smith has to score more runs than any other player from either side during the match for the bet to be a winner.

Most Wickets Betting.

You can pick any given bowler to take the most wickets during the match and as the runs market this can be either by team or teams competing. Quite often this bet will result in a tie, if so the odds are halved.


The Ashes

Probably the biggest betting option in cricket as it only comes around every two years and both Aussies and Poms can help but sledge their mates if they get a nice bet up.

Cricket World Cup

Another popular betting event for punters as it is the only international tournament that is worth winning. top betting options are tournament winner, highest scoring batsman and leading wicket taker.

Sheffield Shield

Competed for each season the Australian domestic event is a favourite with punters who love the game, the most popular bet is the eventual competition winners.