NRL Betting

NRL Betting Guide

Betting Guides
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

NRL or the National Rugby League is one of Australia's and New Zealand's most popular sporting codes and while the NRL is more predominantly built up of teams from either NSW and Queensland there is also representation from Victoria, ACT and New Zealand, currently South Australia and Tasmania do not have any teams competing in the NRL.

The NRL consists of sixteen teams who pit their wits against each other over twenty five rounds of football starting in March with the top eight teams then going head to head in the finals series to see who will be crowned champions.

There are two awards, one for the minor premiers which is unofficially awarded to the team that sits at the top of the ladder after the regular season has been completed and the main award of Premiers goes to the team who takes out the grand final.

NRL is played over two halves of forty minutes and the rules are simple, four points for a try, two points for a conversion or a field goal and one point for a drop goal, the team with the most points at the end of the game wins the match.

If the match ends in a draw after eighty minutes then the Golden Point rule comes into affect, one half of five minutes duration is played and the first team to score a point wins the match. If no points are scored in the first five minutes then the teams switch ends and another half of five minutes is then played.

If no points are scored once again then the match is declared a draw.

Below is a list of the current NRL teams who compete each season, their home ground and which state they represent:


City - State


 Brisbane Broncos

Brisbane, QLD

Suncorp Stadium

 Canberra Raiders

Canberra, ACT

Canberra Stadium

 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

Sydney, NSW

ANZ Stadium

 Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

Sydney, NSW

Southern Cross Group Stadium

 Gold Coast Titans

Gold Coast, QLD

Cbus Super Stadium

 Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles

Sydney, NSW


 Melbourne Storm

Melbourne, VIC


 Newcastle Knights

Newcastle, NSW

McDonald Jones Stadium

 New Zealand Warriors

Auckland, N Zealand

Mount Smart Stadium

 North Queensland Cowboys

Townsville, QLD

1300SMILES Stadium

 Parramatta Eels

Sydney, NSW

ANZ Stadium

 Penrith Panthers

Penrith, NSW

Pepper Stadium

 South Sydney Rabbitohs

Sydney, NSW

ANZ Stadium

 St. George Illawarra Dragons

Sydney, NSW

WIN Stadium

 Sydney Roosters

Sydney, NSW

Allianz Stadium

 Wests Tigers

Sydney, NSW

Leichhardt Oval


Common Bet Types For NRL.

Head To Head Betting.

This is a general win - lose - draw bet placed on either of the two NRL teams competing in a single match, due to the high scoring contests in NRL and the Goden Point rule there is seldom any draws throughout the season so draw odds are often very high.

Line or Handicap Betting.

This option relates to the online betting sites handicap that is given to the team that is expected to lose in a bid to even the match up and the prices accordingly.

The online bookmaker will offer the inferior team a virtual head start in line with their current form and the line could be anywhere a little as 1-6 points all the way up to 20-30.

Example - Melbourne Storm are priced at 1.3 to beat South Sydney in a head to head market but once the handicap is formed lets say Sydney gain 10.5 points then the line betting would be 1.9 the pair.

If Sydney either win the match or lose by no more than 10 points then it is South Sydney that is deemed the winner in the market.

Margin Betting.

This market is solely about what the difference in scores will be at the end of the game between the two teams.

You can pick set margins that the betting site has priced up which usually consists of band ranges or you can go for the exact margin a team will win by.

Example - Melbourne Storm 1-6, this means that if the Storm win the match by anywhere between 1-6 points then your bet is a winner.

Alternatively the exact margin would be if you placed a bet on the Storm to win by 14 points then they would have to win by that margin and that margin alone

First and Last Try Scorer Betting.

Pick a player to score either the first try in any half or the last try in any half and if your selection obliges then your bet is a winner.

Most Tries Betting.

You can pick any given player to score the most tries during a match of the players playing and if your selection manages to score the most or tie then your bet is a winner.

Example - Player A scores 3 tries and the nearest rival only manages 2 tries then player A is the winner OR player A and B score 2 tries each then they are both deemed the winner and the odds of the selections are halved

If three players score the same amount of tries then the odds are a third of the original and so on.

Half Time Full Time Betting.

This market allows you to place a bet on a result at half time and then the result at full time.

Example - Melbourne Storm to be leading at half time and at full time OR Gold Coast to be leading at half time and Melbourne Storm to win at full time.

It is a good option to inflate your odds on any given match.



The Premiership winner is a simple win bet on the who will win the grand final.

Dally M Award.

The Dally M Award is given to the best player of the season out of the competing teams.