A look at the Stradbroke Handicap

A look at the Stradbroke Handicap

Racing News
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times


* First run in 1890 when won by Pyrrhus, the Stradbroke is now Brisbane's flagship race


* Wiggle (1958), Winfreux (1965), Cabochon (1968), Divide And Rule (1970), Daybreak Lover (1984, 1986), Campaign King (1988), Rough Habit (1991-92), Dane Ripper (1997), Private Steer (2003), Thorn Park (2004), Black Piranha (2009-10)


* 1980 winner Ducatoon was later stripped of the title after returning a positive swab

* Rough Habit won his second Stradbroke in 1992 - not only carrying top weight but coming from barrier 18

* The most successful Stradbroke trainer is the late Bart Cummings who won the race four times with Campaign King (1988), Robian Steel (1989), Never Undercharge (1993) and Dane Ripper (1997)

* Usually run over 1400m at neighbouring Eagle Farm, but with that track recovering after being resurfaced the Group One handicap will again be run over 1350m at Doomben.

* Doomben held the Stradbroke last year with Impending winning carrying 52.5kg. He is topweight this year with 57.5kg


* "Impending is in perfect condition. He's really gained confidence from two wins in three starts this campaign and he was a little unlucky not to have won another Group One" - trainer James Cummings.

* "You look at it and compare it to the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in the spring and it's probably a similar field. With a bit of luck in running he's going to certainly be a chance and hopefully he can become a three-time Group One winner this season" - trainer Anthony Freedman's racing manager, Brad Taylor.

* "There is no denying he has been unlucky in other Group Ones. I don't think anyone would begrudge him his Group One win" - Aquis Farm's deputy chief executive Shane McGrath on Spieth.

Latest News

Best Online Betting Sites

Queensland Race Replays
Victorian Race Replays
New South Wales Race Replays
South Australia Race Replays
Tasmanian Race Replays